Book cover of Midlife is the Cat's Meow by TB Markinson and Miranda MacLeod
Main tropes & themes
Heat Level
Image of four flames to symbolize heat level 4

Midlife is the Cat’s Meow

A witch without powers. A secret to die for. A midlife sapphic awakening?

A few months ago, I thought I had it all. My life as a forty-something suburban mom in Cleveland might not have been stimulating, but sometimes excitement is overrated. Like when FBI agents knock down your door on the hunt for your crook of a husband. Thrilling? Maybe. But I wouldn’t recommend it.

After twenty-five years, I’m returning home without a penny to my name. But there are far worse things than living in your family’s bed-and-breakfast on a remote island in Maine. Being a witch who’s lost her powers, for example. Or having two daughters on the brink of getting their magic and having no idea they’re witches.

To complicate matters, a mysterious group of magical enforcers called the Shadow Council blamed me for my twin sister’s death years ago and banned me from ever returning home. But I have nowhere else to go.

My plan is to keep a low profile, land a job, and get back on my feet. My plan does not include finding a mysterious old trunk in the attic, having a famous author drop dead while staying at our inn, being haunted by his ghost, or having my powers return in scary and unexpected ways.

I can also assure you I have no intention of developing a crush on someone who will have me questioning everything I ever thought I knew about who I am.

Then again, you know what they say about the best laid plans…

If you’re hungry for a paranormal story that celebrates women over 40 and strong female friendships, with snarky humor, quirky family members, a mischievous cat, a murder mystery, time travel, ghosts, and a leather wearing, motorcycle-riding physician who sparks an unexpected midlife sapphic awakening, look no further than Midlife is the Cat’s Meow!

My So-Called Hexed Midlife is a fresh new series of paranormal women’s midlife fiction from the Goldie award-winning writing duo T.B. Markinson and Miranda MacLeod.

This series was inspired by the characters and mysteries in the Witches of Pinecroft Cove cozy mystery series, which the authors published under the pen name Nicole St Claire in 2019-2021. The books have been entirely reworked to transform them into sapphic paranormal women’s fiction mysteries, but if you have read the other series, certain circumstances may feel familiar. You are not losing your marbles.

A witch who lost her powers returns to her family’s inn in Maine with her two clueless daughters.

She faces a ban from the Shadow Council, a dead author’s ghost, and a sapphic crush on a biker doctor.

Can she handle the chaos and find her magic again?

This is a paranormal women’s midlife fiction by T.B. Markinson and Miranda MacLeod, based on the Witches of Pinecroft Cove series. It’s full of fun, friendship, and mystery.

Main tropes & themes
Heat Level
Image of four flames to symbolize heat level 4
About this book


Paranormal Romance


Miranda MacLeod & TB Markinson


362 pages


ebook, paperback

Audio length


Release date

April 4, 2023


The My So-Called Hexed Midlife Series

What readers say
Neen Cohen
Read More
There is so much deliciousness in this book. A sapphic paranormal cozy mystery. I mean what more could you really want.
Pat House
Read More
I was hooked from the get go. Great characters, a terrific murder (?) plot (and a few subplots), told in a first-person POV by a witty narrator.
Rachel’s Sapphfic Reviews
Read More
This cute, paranormal, cozy mystery (and yes I’m aware these words don’t usually coexist in a sentence) is just perfect.
Other books you might like